RSS

In Which I am Unusually Productive

18 Jun

This has been a strangely productive summer. For one, I have a job. For another, not being able to depend on another person to make my food seems to have increased my desire to cook (though it hasn’t taken away the dread).

Here’s what I’ve done this summer (in no particular order):

  • Walked to Wegmans. I did this yesterday, and was so proud afterward that I ate lunch at Subway and bought ice cream on the way back home. Needless to say, I spent more money than I ever wanted to spend.
  • Cooked a casserole. Macaroni and cheese and chicken. Yum.
  • Practiced saxophone. The only reason I stopped was because of the flood that closed the music building a few weeks ago. For a while there I was getting up early, at least.
  • Wrote the draft of an introduction. Sure, it was assigned, but I worked on it every day at work until it was fit to see the light of day. Now I just need to apply that to my creative work, and I’m set.
  • Got results which made no sense, and found out how to fix them. This one is work-related. I’m a physics research assistant, and needless to say something always goes wrong. Hopefully this time will be better.
  • Finished two seasons of X-Files. I hate cliffhangers.
  • Found a new favorite book. Review to come soon.
  • Speaking of books, I’ve finished three already, and am working on my fourth. This is the most reading I’ve done in a long, long time.
  • Began reading three textbooks in earnest: Inorganic Chemistry, Modern Physics for Scientists and Engineers, and Cauldrons in the Cosmos: Nuclear Astrophysics. They’re all challenging, especially for a sophomore physics major, but they’re so interesting. They make it easier for me to ignore my longing for homework. To give an idea of what I mean by “challenging,” I’m taking General Chemistry this year and will need the second book for my next two physics classes. Don’t look at me like that. Haven’t you ever wanted to learn more about things you don’t know much about? And who doesn’t like astrophysics?
  • Started working on a new short story. See the fourth bullet for why this may turn out to be a major accomplishment.

And to think the summer isn’t over yet!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

What do you think?

 
