RSS

Going Cold Turkey

19 Jun

I quit coffee after finals. It’s so expensive on campus, there isn’t a meal plan for the summer, and I’d kind of like to go without an addiction for three months. So far, it’s been going well. There was a rough week or so after I came home that I craved the taste of a particular flavor, but I didn’t have access to it, so I ignored it pretty well.

Then it started again, out of nowhere. Well, maybe not out of nowhere–lately the guys I work with have been sending out for coffee. So now there are days when I’m surrounded by coffee, and it’s so hard to keep my resolve. I can only remind myself that I have no change on me, but today that barely helped.

See, I’ve been sick since I had mono, and when I’m not sick I’m exhausted. Today was one of the latter days. I haven’t been sleeping well lately because of the heat, and my fan seems to bring on allergy attacks. So today I almost gave in. Almost. The smell nearly made me insane.

I’ll be fine, in the end. Today just reminded me there’s a reason I don’t take money to work: if I spent it all on coffee, I’d have very little left.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Going Cold Turkey

  1. The Awkward List

    June 20, 2012 at 9:55 am

    You can do it, I believe in you!

    It sucks that whenever you’re trying to let go of something, it becomes extremely available all of a sudden, haha.

    🙂

    Edwin

     
    • Pen

      June 20, 2012 at 10:53 am

      Thanks! 🙂

      At least I still have to pay out of pocket. I don’t know how I could manage otherwise.

       

What do you think?

 
