RSS

Resolutions

10 Mar

My birthday was on Sunday. I feel old for someone so unaccomplished. Kids my age are graduating college, and I’m only halfway through the decision of figuring out if I actually want to continue pursuing physics. I don’t have a job. I go to school part-time, two days a week. My room isn’t done.

But I have Batman socks, complete with capes, so I guess I’m happy?

I’ve started a new writing project. Again. Today I wrote 167 words over a course of…I actually can’t say how long, because I did part of it while we were watching a video in class. I’m pretty optimistic, since this is a project I’ve been dwelling on for weeks.

I’ve re-started on the writing critique site I haven’t been on in a really long while. I think it’s been three years.

I’ve reactivated my account on another site whose forums I haven’t visited in about six months or so.

I got recommended for honors classes at the school I’m attending while I’m on leave.

I changed my blog theme.

I restarted my research project, which was put on pause while I worked some stuff out. The analyses we’re doing in my Mythology class has helped me regain my motivation.

I restarted Final Fantasy Tactics Advance, and started a new game of Pokemon Rangers: Guardian Signs.

I’ve been very, very slowly building a new thing on Minecraft. I also discovered the Rabbit Spawn and Toast.

I went out for birthday french fries, milkshakes, and raspberry sorbet with my friend, whose birthday is close to mine. We also watched Black Death, a very depressing movie starring the guy who plays Boromir in LOTR (I am told his name is Sean Bean) and Eddie Redmayne, the hot guy who played Marius in the newest film production of Les Mis. The ending seems like a bit of a cop-out, I think, but we had fun.

I got 102% on my first psych exam (Social Psychology of the Holocaust, for those wondering).

I got to visit my friend back at school the week before last at her awesome new apartment. She even gets to keep her cat there, and the problems with the super-aggressive second cat are all resolved. I also got shinsplints.

I’m writing this post.

These aren’t resolutions, but I’m in some serious need of some self-care right now and this is helping a lot. This week and a half I’ve been pretty off–today I needed to take absences in Mythology and History (US History Since 1865, for those wondering) because of an anxiety attack I had over a missed reading assignment (I read the wrong dates on the syllabus) and a missed writing assignment (I was sick and forgot about it) shortly before Mythology was due to begin this morning. I hate taking days off for stuff like this, but I needed the time to do some serious thinking about perspective.

I got up this morning. I brushed my teeth and got a giant knot out of my hair. I got dressed, and I wore my new, awesome bra.

I am also getting a baby tree tomorrow for my birthday. I’m going to raise it as a bonsai. I want to know so badly what kind it is, but the lady at the store didn’t tell my mom, only that it’d be coming in on Wednesday.

Tonight my family is going to celebrate my birthday at a fancy Italian place. I’m going to have gnocchi, and it will be wonderful.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 10, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Resolutions

What do you think?

 
